Patience

 

 

The Wise Owl
The wise old owl
Sat in an oak.
The more he saw,
The less he spoke.
The less he spoke,
The more he heard.
Why can’t we be like
That wise old bird?

 

Well, I have blogged my way through January and made it to February although I don’t think I have any readers!! (Apart from family) My sister made the good point that I was being very reflective. So I am writing today about today…I have agonising face ache due to a swollen mouth all because of a wisdom tooth, will I be a little less wise next week after extraction?!

This amazingly serene sculpture arrived last week, so it is our most recent finished creation. My husband titled it ‘Patience’ and said it was me. The prominent nose and defined eyelids do in some way resemble me and I do tend to keep quiet about things. I have always thought that  patience  was my strong point although it is being tested at the moment with my eldest child but I think the contributing factor is my tooth. My pain threshold is high but not without side effects!

Interestingly, I was listening to women’s hour this morning and an artist has just kept silent for a month! I am not sure if I could do that. Although I believe sometimes that, like the owl in my children’s stories. He is wise enough to listen and in listening realises it’s wise not to say so much…

Also, at this moment in Egypt, millions are speaking out after a ’30 year long silence’. We just came back from Egypt at the end of December after visiting our family there. I must say that as a country Egypt tests my patience to the core. There were no real signs that such a revolution was about to happen and we are getting such mixed responses from family and friends as to what is happening on the ground. I guess sat here in England we will just have to wait and be patient and watch what will happen today.


4 thoughts on “Patience

  1. First of all, I hear you about the wisdom tooth. There is nothing quite so painful. Make sure your painkiller has codeine in it, it’s the only thing that will work.
    And how blessed you are with a husband who really sees you, and honors your best qualities.
    And thank you for speaking about Egypt. The Egyptians are in my heart and prayers.
    Love,
    Nora.

  2. Well, I read this today. What a lovely site; beautiful scultures – such a talented artist!! And your beautiful words along with them. What a good team! I like it! A serene way to move through a cold, snowy winter. xx

Leave a Reply

