Herman

'Time'

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So whilst I am sat here writing, my husband is at the opening of the exhibition. I am eager to here all about it but also aware of all I have to do here. For some reason in his absence, I am using my cold as the reason for all things today, cleaning and tidying has gone out the window. I have been up since the crack of dawn and was fairly productive before we set off for school. However since then I have quite successfully eaten my way through the day with the mantra ‘feed a cold’ darting in and out of my head, sure you are not supposed to take that quite so literally. Well, in that vain I am thinking that I will use the rhubarb from the freezer and make a crumble. So I use a hammer to bash the ginger biscuits too much like hard work to get at the rolling-pin. I try to pour them into the pan with one hand, 16 month old baby on my hip with the other hand results in biscuits all over the cooker. Manage to scrap most of the crumbs into the pan and carry on with the recipe. Only a little later does it dawn on me that I have put all the sugar needed into the biscuit mixture when actually only two tablespoons were needed. Oh well, it’s all going in the same dish anyway I think as I step in the neatly swept pile of crumbs (and other food bits my toddler likes to throw around on the floor) not yet put in the bin. He is now dragging something sticky around the floor….great! the kitchen looks like something has exploded in it.

So sprawled out on the living room floor that looks like it’s been burgled we are ‘playing’ when there is a knock at the door. A friend of mine is at the door, I invite her in (despite the mess am I mad! I usually hurry around making everything spick span before anyone is allowed in – where have I inherited that from I wonder!) She can’t stop but leaves me with Herman.

The other day my husband came home early and I was upstairs and I was a little while getting to the stairs, in fact our baby was there shouting ‘baba’ before me which gave me the jitters. Don’t worry I got there in time, scooped him up and then came down stairs and noticed a puzzled expression on my husbands face as he pointed to the pair of large mens shoes neatly parked next to the sofa as if someone had taken them off. Is your brother here he asked? and I realised the slight concerned tone in his voice. Obviously I have never bought shoes as a gift before (not the most gift giving person ever) and I always think shoes is an odd present as it is so size and fitting specific. Anyway I totally shocked and relieved my husband with this welcome new gift.

My sort of point here is that although I am never too sure when my husband will be home day to day, the house is in some sort of order, maybe chaotic order but here I am sat writing when the kitchen still looks like something has exploded and it could quite easily me be next as the crumble didn’t go down to well with the boys and I seem to think it is ok to finish off the lot! Not only is the living room still a mess we have just done bath and bed time and I have neither the energy or inclination to set too on it.

So where is Herman in all of this are you wondering? Herman is not actually this digital piece although I feel he does look like Herman. This piece is hanging at the BRICK LANE GALLERY whilst Herman has quietly sat and observed the madness and messiness of the day.

He is supposed to sit on my worktop for the next ten days. I can’t put him in the fridge or he will die and if he stops bubbling he is dead. Herman the German Friendship cake is a sourdough cake. I have instructions for day 1 to 9 and then I have to split him into four and give three away to my friends. What a great idea!

So in a few days time I will be making more mess in the kitchen. It is a good job I am expecting my husband back tomorrow and not at the end of the exhibition on the 19th otherwise goodness knows what mess I would be in!

Leave a Reply

