Bottoms, rabbits and running in the gallery

'Shelter' other angles 3

I felt a little bit of traitor today, I piled the kids in the car and drove to hear sculptor  Sophie Ryder do a talk about her work. My own sculptor was doing a ‘there and back in a day trip to London’ to collect the work above, really like these two images above of my husbands work, taken by Lili Phelouzat the curator of the exhibition and this comment, “they contrast to the larger and shiny pieces. These are very intimate and has lots of meanings, tongue in cheek”. So I thought I would make the most of the fair weather and enjoy the grounds of Cartwright Hall and take in the talk with the boys. There was a time pre-children that I worked at Cartwright, such a fantastic venue for a gallery and when now when I go I realise I took that opportunity for granted. I knew it was over ambitious with the boys but thought I would at least get to hear a bit.

We  explored Sophie’s exhibition quite vocally. Of the older sophisticated audience perusing the exhibits of rabbits some were amused at my two loudly exclaiming ‘Bottoms’ and ‘BumBum’ although when my toddler suddenly appeared on the wrong side of the barriers I felt it was time to leave. At least he didn’t pull his trousers down, we have done that at other inappropriate venues! We ventured upstairs where a large number of people were gathering in one of my favourite rooms of Cartwright Hall Art Gallery. My eldest was fantastic, he had picked up a pine cone on the way in and then sat down with the paper and pencils provided and drew. My youngest however was in his energetic element and was thrilled by the space and his feet could be heard thundering along the beautiful wooden gallery floors. I heard 5 minutes of the talk, barely. We left and went into the glorious grounds. ( I would definitely recommend the exhibition for children though, they will Love counting how many rabbits bottoms they can see.)

It was interesting and inspiring if only for the  30 minutes spent today to see a gallery space in action and for me to think of the future. Perhaps with less rabbits, bottoms and running in the gallery.

Leave a Reply

