Stuff and Stuffing

Flux exh 2

‘Alert’ by Sam Shendi in FLUX exhibition

FLUX 3

 

flux 7

Section of painting at Flux.

Having watched the film of A Christmas Carol with the boys, I am all for Dickens focus of family at christmas, peace and goodwill to all. However, I also watched an almost disturbing documentary about the origins of Christmas and whilst it was Dickens who cemented the way we celebrate it now into the minds of the masses, it also confirmed my disillusioned view of it all, with the whole mix mash of pagan, christian and consumerist ideas. I have had to re read and delete much of what I had written as it was all very ‘Scrooge’ like and sounding bah humbug which didn’t really follow my last post very well but in some ways as humans we do all fluctuate in mood and feeling and can sometimes be hypocritical. So I will refrain. We are all in states of flux and so here are the images from the exhibition: FLUX.

flux up close 2

Close up of a painting at Flux.

flix lights

Close up of a piece by Dannielle Hodson, FLUX.

flux up close

FLUX 6

‘Bedtime Storeis’ by Sam Shendi in exhibition at FLUX.

With the last exhibition of the year at The Royal College of Art now finished, we are ready to close shop and retreat a while. I think winter is important to rest, relax and refresh ready for the new year. Although I am not even sure time should be viewed like that.

flux up close 4

Section of piece at FLUX.

flux up close3

by Emma Caton, at FLUX.

 

I think this last image looks like christmas bauble. Though if you look closer you will notice it is full of rubbish and sweet wrappings. How rubbish and waste can be wrapped up in something, golden and dripping with delight. Not that I intended to end on that note. Perhaps, more a gentle remind and a pause for thought about the ‘stuff’ we ask for this Christmas, about the rubbish and waste we create. I think I till sound bah humbug. Not intended, Perhaps, Remember, reduce, reuse, is slightly more upbeat. Seasons Greetings to you all.

2 thoughts on “Stuff and Stuffing

Leave a Reply

