Carving time out for 2016

I don’t know why a number on a calendar which is just part of one system causes such a turmoil in feeling.  Some time has ended and some new time is beginning. Each day is a new day but there seems something more significant in a ‘new year’. Because of the cold wet climate here it is the perfect time to stay in, under the duvet and do nothing but think. I was listening to a snippet of a radio program on diaries and just caught the idea that journal writing enables us to see self-development. As I flicked through my journal last night I realised the last four years is a bit sparse with entries but then I have regularly ‘blogged’ perhaps instead.  I wonder if it is slightly more filtered than my weepy outpourings of motherhood in my journal.

However, I begin this new year 2016 on a more upbeat optimistic outlook as I approach a new stage with the boys entering into a more ‘junior’ stage. Over these holiday days the sculptor, never one to do ‘nothing’ took the time to carve a bull but with him he took the boys to enjoy being with him in the studio. Always trying to be grateful for what we have, the only thing I think they need of is more outdoor play, exploring for themselves and having freedom to do so. As they grow our little back yard diminishes in space for them to do that. So the larger space of the studio yard during these wintry days has been a perfect way for them to let out steam, spend time with Baba, for the sculptor to carve and for me to carve out a little bit time for myself. As I just reassuringly read in the blog that inspired me to start ‘blogging’  five years ago, when we mother’s do get this precious time it can be hard to know exactly what to do with it.

We move from a year which has had its challenges, tests of patience but been full of activities and achievements for us all. It feels another year has flown even faster than the last.”The strongest of all warriors are these two — Time and Patience” Tolstoy.

Thank you for taking the time to read this little online journal of our continued journey of sculptural exploration and family life. Blessed Friday, Happy New Year with hope that 2016 may bring peace, love and the time to bring that all together.

I post photos I have taken of studio moments, carving out sculptures and memories.

IMG_0156
old art work decorating the shrub land

 

IMG_0157



 

 

IMG_0188
Boys playing outside the studio
IMG_0186
Muddy bike riding in the space at the front of the studio
IMG_0191
Inside the dusty studio
IMG_0190
Dusty feet
IMG_0206
Carving out the bull

 

IMG_0205
Bull in progress

 

2 thoughts on “Carving time out for 2016

Leave a Reply

